What is a Bikram 30 Day Challenge?

Standard

30 day bikram yoga challengeBikram Choudhury is the founder and developer of Bikram Yoga, a series of 26 postures and two breathing exercises.

I have heard how he developed the class at least a zillion and one times, usually during class, but it is best said here on his website: http://www.bikramyoga.com/Bikram/bikram.php. I feel repeating it in writing may infringe on copyright laws, and Bikram is a stickler for that.  You would be, too, if you had developed such a healing series of postures.

He has written a couple of books, both of which are very entertaining.  He is quite a character!

I wanted to share with you exactly what he writes about the importance of a 30 or 60 day challenge, but I loaned out my book that describes that directly from Bikram.  In layman’s terms, your body needs that time to improve and make active changes that last.

Basically, in my own words, a 30 day Bikram Yoga challenge is a way to transform your body, mind and soul.  They are very cleansing, both through what you sweat out and what you put into your body to be prepared for such a grueling class schedule.

Many define 30 classes in 30 days as a 30 day challenge.  This means if you miss a day, you can do a double (take two classes in one day) to make up for a missed day.  That is the official definition.  My definition only allows for one class per day for 30 consecutive days.

I have never done a double, not sure I ever will.  Maybe, it just really doesn’t interest me.  But it would be a challenge, and I love a challenge!

I will tell you with every challenge I have ever done, usually just 30 day challenges (but I have done a 60 day challenge once), my body makes a great transformation.  It really tones up.  You work muscles you never knew you had.

My skin glows.

My eating habits improve.  Not that they are normally bad to begin with, just lately, but I make certain I eat 5 small meals a day, I drink tons of water, I try new healthy foods, finding new favorites.

Emotionally, though, this cleansing process makes you weep.  You are more emotional, more in touch with your feelings.  But in the end, you shed the bad memories and feelings.  It’s just a process to get through.

With that being said, I expect to be a bit more emotional than normal this go round, because:

  1. Jack
  2. Jack’s Father
  3. Last year at this time I was pregnant with Jack, and know part of the reason I lost him was from attending Bikram Yoga (you should never take class during your first trimester, let a lone a challenge)
  4. I am still not over any of the past year

So, I apologize in advance for any emotionally draining posts and crazy ups and downs and crazy highs and lows!  It just part of the cleansing and transformation process!

Additional resources on a Bikram 30 Day Challenge:

http://www.detroitbikram.com/detroit-bikram-blog/2011/3/25/yoga-challenge-march-2011

The Postures: http://www.bikramyoga.com/BikramYoga/TwentySixPostures.php

Bikram Yoga Basics: http://www.bikramyoga.com/Studios/BikramYogaBasics.php

How a 60 day Bikram Yoga challenge can transform your life:

http://www.oprah.com/health/Paige-Williams-60-Day-Makeover

http://www.oprah.com/health/Paige-Williams-60-Day-Bikram-Yoga-Makeover

4 thoughts on “What is a Bikram 30 Day Challenge?

  1. Karen

    After reading this, Im definitely going to challenge myself. Im on day 3 of my 3 series of Bikram Yoga. I do it every year for a couple of months. This will be my first time doing a 30 day challenge. Great post!

cheer me along!

