Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #5

Standard

bikram yoga 30 day challenge

My fifth class this week on day #5 with IJ2!  She was retelling stories I already heard this week, but she apologized to everyone.  Again, she has done a lot of filling in for vacationers this week, so she has taught a lot of classes.  Which was certainly a bonus for me!

I expected the class to be crowded, but it wasn’t too bad!  It was awesome.

Half moon was good, I went pretty deep.  Awkward was great, I made it up on the third part today.  Bow was okay.  My balancing stick felt great; not sure how it looked.  My triangle was pretty good; it usually is.  Camel felt great; not sure how it looked.

Locust hurt my arms and shoulders so bad, I almost cried.  I skipped part 3 on the first round and skipped the second round all together.

As we were laying in our first savasana, I kept thinking, “someone smells like poo.”  Yikes.  Then I realized we hadn’t even done wind removing pose yet, which meant is was only going to smell more like poo in the room.  Yup, that’s Bikram for you!

Another great class!

~

Garurasana Eagle Pose

A great snapshot of Eagle Pose from http://bikramormond.com/.

The next posture is Garurasana (Sanskrit) Eagle Pose.

I am a big fan of Eagle Pose.  I often, outside of class, will wrap my arms in this pose to stretch out my shoulders.  It feels so good!  I often wrap my legs in the pose out of habit.

This posture does so much good for you!

It helps firms your legs, your stomach, your upper arms, your rear…  It helps loosen your joints: hips, knees, ankles.  Plus it’s fun to twist yourself up like a pretzel!

Here is a quick 30 second tutorial on this position:

The only thing I hate, hate, hate about this pose is that when I twist my legs, I can see all of my cellulite.  In fact, IJ2 was discussing the other day how you should see pressure points when you release from this pose where you were twisting so tight, and all I kept thinking was – who has time for that?  I can’t get my eyes off all this cellulite!

The bummer of it is that my cellulite used to be under control, until I spent 3 months in bed this year…

Hopefully it reverses quickly!

This is an easy posture to do pieces of outside of class; give it a shot!

2 thoughts on “Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #5

  1. Nina

    Hey! I’m doing the Bikram yoga Challenge this month too, i’m on day 5. I’m feeling really motivated, i can see how toned i am becoming already. Keep up the good work!

cheer me along!

