Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #6

Standard

bikram yoga 30 day challenge

Today was my sixth class in a row.  The 8 am’er again.  It was filled and crowded, but not packed.  I had people on all sides of me, but not invading my space, which was nice.

Today IJ2 must have had the day off.  or maybe she was at the other studio, I don’t know.  Today’s instructor will be IA; I have never taken a class before with her.  I am not sure if she is new or just new to the area.

She gave me a great pointer, that once I can rediscover my balance, will make my Eagle almost perfect.  That was cool.

The overall mood of the class was low and tired.  I was certainly sleepy having got very little sleep last night.  Her rhythm was different from IJ2, and I tried to adjust as best I could.  The rest of the class was always a step or two ahead of her.  I can deal, but I prefer when the class moves together with synergy.

I was half-assing it through class.  Honestly.  I was just so tired.  And I had stopped my the mailbox on my way to class and had a letter I didn’t want, don’t want to deal with.  This ongoing harassment crap never ends.

It wasn’t a great class, I skipped a few postures, some because they hurt, some because I was lazy.

Oh, well.  Not every day is going to be a great one.

There is always tomorrow.

~

                              Bikram-postures-Standing-Head-to-Knee-1Bikram-postures-Standing-Head-to-Knee-3Bikram-postures-Standing-Head-to-Knee-3

Pictures found at: http://www.bikramyogacapalaba.com.au/

The next posture, after “party-time” (our first and only official water break) is Dandayamana-Janushirasana (Sanskrit) Standing Head to Knee.

This is a great posture to improve your strength and flexibility in your legs, especially your hamstrings.

And something I need to work on.  Well, the flexibility part.

I can lock my knee, firmly, “like a lamppost”, that I have no problem with.  I usually go the first round keeping in the first position, to build strength.

The second round I will normally extend my leg towards the second position.  But I cannot straighten it, my hammies are too tight.  My shoulders are too tight to stretch my arms forward and help.  I am not sure if that is a common problem for other yogis are not.

Honestly, I often use the first position, with my knee bended, to help stretch out my shoulders.  Shhh… don’t tell Bikram!

I need to work on my flexibility.  I know this.  I long for the day I can stretch out my leg and complete this posture!

And the third position… it may be a pipe dream for me!

 

cheer me along!

