Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #9

Standard

IMG_0843

Today was day #9 of my 31 day challenge.  I attended the 9am class.  IEC was the instructor.  I hadn’t seen her in a long time.  She told me I was still very strong, despite my long absence, at the end of class.

IEC is firm yet meditative.  I enjoy her classes, though she doesn’t put up with my crap like some of the others do, unfortunately.  She doesn’t find me as amusing as others do.  Oh, well. 😉

Thinking back, no position stands out to me as fabulous or very poor today.  I was just happy to go to class, happy throughout class, and still happy now!  (The angry mood that has developed due to this cleansing process hasn’t quite dissipated, but it has certainly lessened.  I expect weepy and sappy to be next…)

I did buy a new water jug this morning.  It holds 52 oz.  I was so excited to have something so cool to take water to and from class instead of buying a $2 50 oz bottle each time.  I keep spring water here by the 5 gallon bottles for $2.25.  It works best for me as I try to be more frugal.  I have been quite the environmentalist for the last few years.

Oh, and this lady, who regularly attends, and I swear dries her clothes with fabric softener that smells like mold, mildew and cigarette smoke always finds her way next to me… ugh! 🙂

~

Dandayamana-Bibhaktapada-Paschimotthanasana(Sanskrit)

This is a great image from http://www.bikramyogalangley.ca/.

Today’s posture is Dandayamana-Bibhaktapada-Paschimotthanasana(Sanskrit) Standing Separate Leg Stretching Pose.

It is not one of my best, only because I am not so flexible.  But I keep working on it!

This posture is designed to stretch and strengthen your sciatic nerves and legs.  It works to also stretch and strengthen your abdominal organs and intestines and adds flexibility of your hips, pelvis, ankles and lower spine.

This is a great pose to work on at home, but don’t expect to get too deep without the heat and humidity – and – MAKE SURE YOUR KNEES ARE LOCKED!

cheer me along!

