Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #10

Standard

bikram yoga 30 day challenge

 

For the 10th day of my challenge, I attended the 10:00 am class.  The instructor was one of the owners, II (or I squared if I could use “superscript”).  I had actually never attended any of his classes.  I had heard he was pretty stuff and kind of a stickler for little things, so I had avoided his classes, I guess, in the past.  I am a wiggler.  I can’t sit still.  I also think I am pretty funny sometimes, and I just didn’t think he would be a good teacher for me.

How wrong was I! He wasn’t any of those things.  Plus he is hot, though very married to the co-owner, IJ1.

He was actually a great instructor.  He wasn’t too tough.  He was encouraging and remarked before class that he had seen my name many times but had never had me in class.  He said he has often had a lady whose name is just like mine, spelled the same way, except the first letter of her last name is different.  Everyone gets us confused because of that.  They even say we look alike.  Honestly I am flattered.  She is very beautiful.

Luckily we are both on monthly unlimited packages so when they do mix us up, it really doesn’t matter.

Overall a good class, despite the horrible news I received last night.  News that made me cry.  I bawled like I hadn’t cried in years, which we all know is untrue.

Now, in all honesty, the news wasn’t bad, actually very exciting for others.  Just not for me.  It made me ache all over again.  I cried all night, took a couple of Xanaxes, and had nightmares all night.

I did not want to get out of bed, but forced myself to do so.

I made it through all the postures.  I made an effort.  I showed up.  I tried to live.

It wouldn’t have mattered if I was in the middle of a challenge or not, this news would have made me a wreck anyways.

~

Here is a great video of Bikram himself showing the Triangle Pose on one side.  It is always done on both sides and then repeated.

The next posture in the series is Trikanasana (Sanskrit) Triangle Pose; the pinnacle of the standing series.

This posture works to improve every bone, joint, muscle, and internal organ, as it rejuvenates the nerves, veins and tissues.

I absolutely love this posture!  I remember how difficult is was for me in my very first class.  I learned to improve it and how to hold it better by pulling in my core muscles.

I have this one pretty much nailed, and I am very proud of it.  I should move one day from the center of the room to the far left so that I can see it in both mirrors and verify I am aligned, but it’s too crowded over there…

You could try this at home, but I doubt you can get very deep without the heat and humidity.

cheer me along!

