Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #15

Standard

Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge

Halfway Through!!

Well, it was bound to happen.  I guess I am surprised it took this long.

I ran this morning.  I wanted to do 6 as I had the time and the weather was okay… but my big left toe was killing me.  I settled on 2, and only did 1.5.  I limped back.

I don’t know why my foot hurt so much more today.  It hurt a little bit on Friday’s six mile run. But not after.  Not at yoga on Friday.

Not Saturday.  Not Sunday.

But it was killing me this morning.  I did not do anything yesterday extra to aggravate it, so what gives?

Was it cause I turned on the air?  Was it cause it was going to rain?

Either way, it hurt so bad today I barely made it through yoga.  I let IEK know I would be skipping any toe poses and possibly and one leg standing postures to let it rest.  I did not realize how many postures I need the whole left foot for.  Yikes!

I am afraid if the aching persists I will have to call it quits for the season.  I was planning on surgery in the Fall, knowing I was lucky to have this summer for activities.  But if the pain and pressure continues, I will not be able to put it off.

It’s a never ending ache.  A dull thud.  Each step hurts.  The pressure is so great.

So class sucked for me today.

I also discovered I will not be able to do class during rehab, unless I plan on just laying there in Savasana the whole time. 😦

I am guessing it will be at least 6 months after surgery before I can do yoga again, and I will have to start slow.

~

The first posture in the floor series is Pavanamuktasana (Sanskrit) Wind-Removing Pose.

This is seriously my favorite position, and I was able to do this one today.  I do this one all the time at home.  It’s great if you have digestive issues for clearing out the air in your intestines.  In fact, I go deeper at home then in class; I don’t want to embarrass myself!  One time, however, this guy was totally letting them rip in class.  I haven’t seen him return since that incident.

The pose is designed to massage the ascending, descending and transverse colon.  It compresses the whole digestive system.  It’s a great arm strengthener and works to improve hip flexibility.

I made sure on this one to add a video so that you can watch it and start doing it at home.  It’s a great stretch and you can build arm strength and definition through continued practice.

 

 

cheer me along!

