Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #17

Standard

bikram yoga 30 day challenge

Today I went to the 6:00 am class.  The instructor was IK.  My concentration was strong today, but not on my postures.

My concentration focused on IK’s pregnant belly.

I don’t have much to say about it right now – I am quite devoid of emotion.  I made it through the postures, except for the toe ones, but with every time she rubbed her belly, which she did most of class, I was distracted.  Or rather my concentration focused on that.

It reminded me of all those dreams I had last fall where I would wake up reaching for a belly that wasn’t there.

It makes me sad.

~

The first posture in the spine strengthening series is Bhujangasana (Sanskrit) Cobra Pose.

The Cobra Posture works to strengthen your lumber spine, relieving pain and combating slipped or herniated discs, scoliosis and arthritis in that region. Benefits include improved digestion, relief from menstrual conditions, improved appetite, raising low blood pressure, and improves the functioning of the liver and spleen.

I really like to work on this one.  I like this posture.  It is tough, but I feel it working to make my lower back stronger.  It is important to have a strong lower back to increase your core strength.

I don’t think you should try this at home.  I believe you need the heat to help you get your back into position properly.

cheer me along!

