Weekly Challenge: Have a Dinner Party & Make Something New

Standard

Scallops & Filets

For this week’s dinner party with J, I waited until the day of to decide what to make.

I had a craving for steak; I like filets.  I don’t eat a lot of red meat, but sometimes I do crave it.  Especially when I have been working out a lot, like now.

I found a recipe in “Real Simple” magazine as I was flipping through it for “Rosemary & Orange Scallops”.  It looked enticing and I love scallops.  It could be grilled along with the filets.

I also found in that same article a new twist on veggie skewers.  It was to add slices of lemon.  I thought the would be a refreshing taste, so I choose to do it.

I also added a couple of standards: avocado and tomato salad and my quinoa salad.

Everything turned out fabulous and was so yummy!

J said she really enjoyed it – which is always so pleasing to hear.  I love to cook, but often don’t have the opportunity to do so for others.  Hopefully if I really push this a few times, I can encourage my friends to do more of this with me.  It just is always easier to meet at a restaurant, you know?

Filet, scallops, veggies

Here are the recipes:

Filets

  • Choose filets or steaks of your choice, to your liking
  • Salt & Pepper the meat
  • Pat fresh garlic into the meat
  • Marinate with Lea & Perrins Worchester Sauce (it’s gluten-free!) & olive oil
  • I use a Ziploc bag to marinate with
  • Marinate for a few hours
  • Grill to taste! (I do 5-6 minutes on each side for medium, and let them sit for a few minutes before cutting into them)
  • I cooked in a small pan on the grill mixed mushrooms marinated in Lea & Perrins and olive oil & salt & pepper to garnish the filets

Rosemary & Orange Scallops

  • I bought a lb of large sea scallops (the recipe called for 1 1/2 lbs to serve 4)
  • 1 orange cut into wedges
  • I marinated the scallops and oranges in a Ziploc bag with olive oil (recipe says 1/4 cup – I just eye it); rosemary (r: 1 Tbsp m: eye it); orange zest (r: 1 Tbsp m: eye it); salt & pepper for a few hours
  • I threaded the scallops and orange wedges on a skewer stick
  • I grilled for about 3 minutes on each side

Veggie Skewers

  • I threaded tiny potatoes, large mushrooms, sliced red onions and lemon wedges on skewers and grilled for over 20 minutes – honestly it wasn’t long enough for the potatoes – they were a little hard, but good.

avocado & tomato

Avocado & Tomato Salad

  • Chop a firm, and just ripe avocado into cubes
  • Slice tomatoes (from my garden!) into wedges
  • Red onions
  • Squeeze fresh lime over the salad
  • Drizzle with olive oil
  • Salt & pepper
2 thoughts on “Weekly Challenge: Have a Dinner Party & Make Something New

  1. It all looks so delicious! Nthose avocados in the salad – yum. I don’t cook often for friends either. Sometimes one of my friends has a pot luck and that’s kind of fun. Excellent job!

cheer me along!

