Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #19

Standard

bikram yoga 30 day challenge

Today I went to the 6:00 am class again – the third day in a row.  It’s a good feeling to start the day this way! The instructor was IK from Wednesday again.

I didn’t focus too much on her belly today.  I was kind of in a daze.  Very tired and focused.  I made it through all the poses but the toe ones.  It was a strong and hot class.  I even got a “good posture.  Nice alignment,” from IK during floor bow.  That made me smile.

Breathing is important.  I think I have mentioned that before.  You need to stay focused on yourself in the mirror and remember to breathe calmly, through your nose.  If you start breathing through your mouth, or stop breathing all together, you can get panicky and tire quicker.  This will make class very challenging.

If you focus on your surroundings, you lose the meditative part of class.  Because Bikram yoga is very challenging physically, you often focus too much on that and lose what you can gain by meditating during class as well.

I try to remember to leave all conflict and negativity outside the room.  It disappears during the postures, until you get to Savasana.  Then it is hard for me to lay there in silence and stay still.  I fidget and my mind wanders.  I really need to focus on that part better…

I remember to breathe all the other times, I need to remember to just breathe and focus on my breath then..  Belly up…belly down…

~

Mimi_Hall_Poorna-Salabhasana_014-web

Picture borrowed from http://mimihall.editme.com/

The third posture in the spine strengthening series is Poorna-Salabhasana(Sanskrit) Full Locust Pose.

This is an ah, whatever, pose for me.  I can do it, but I don’t feel I am doing it right, because I don’t feel the strength developing in my middle spine.

Full Locust design is to increase strength in the middle spine helping scoliosis, kyphosis, spondylosis and slipped discs.  It expands elasticity in the rib cage.  It firms the ab muscles, upper arms, hips and thighs.

I don’t feel it in any of those places, so I continue to try harder until I do.  But I also skip this posture a lot if the room is crowded.  I don’t like to touch anyone else.

I am trying hard not to scrunch my forehead when I do it, as I look up, just move the eyes.  Scrunching the forehead causes wrinkles.  😦

cheer me along!

