Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #21

Standard

Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge

For day #21, I went to the 8 am class.  The instructor was IEK.  It was a great class, a great way to start the day.  All my postures (except the toe ones) were strong and my flexibility is more improved, like I mentioned for yesterday’s class.

Today would be a good day to discuss first time attendees.  There was a girl who was starting out today.  Always the first in the room, I directed her from the far left side to the right side, where it is cooler.  She was much appreciative.

I am sure she was even more appreciative later, as was I, because she was having a really hard time.

This happens.  My very first ever class was great; my second class ever was not.

It’s okay to sit down, just keep your head up, meaning sit up, don’t lie down.

The room is hot, very hot.  And the humidity is high.  It’s uncomfortable.

You need to take care of yourself in class.

Make sure you are well hydrated before attending.  Make sure you ate well the day before.  Bring water and Gatorade (or something else with a bit of sugar and electrolytes in it) to class.

Breathe…

~

20

Picture borrowed from http://www.bikramtysons.com/

The next posture in the floor series is Supta-Vajrasana (Sanskrit) Fixed Firm.

This is my absolute, absolute most favorite pose.  Even though I don’t have great flexibility, and many have a hard time getting this one all the way down like the picture above – I can do it!  My knees and ankles are not that tight, despite years of being a catcher in Softball.  It’s crazy!

This one feels so, so good for me.  I really love it.  I do it a lot at home, too.

Fixed Firm strengthens and improves flexibility of the lower spine, hips, knees and ankles. It increases circulation to the lower limbs, and is therapeutic for lower back pain, sciatica, rheumatism and varicose veins and helps prevent hernias.

To do Fixed Firm (only go as far as you can!):

  1. Sit on your knees
  2. Spread your feet out and sit your bottom down in between your feet (make sure your feet are pointing towards the back wall)
  3. Reach arms back and start to stretch back
  4. Once you can get all the way down, cross your arms over your head and grab your elbows.
  5. Lift your belly and chest up to make a bridge.

Love the stretch!

cheer me along!

