Week #3: Weekly Goals Status Check

Standard

31 day challenge

Weekly Goals

  1. Have friends over for a lunch or dinner party each week. Completed!
  2. Make something I have never made before each time. I made orange and rosemary scallops.  Yum!
  3. Start reading again, at least one book a week. Failed!  Blame it on Saturday’s headache!
  4. Enjoy the amenities of my neighborhood – the pool, the gym…  I went to the pool!
  5. Find new hobbies to adopt. Worked on my sign language.  Worked on my gardening – rearranged the plants on the deck to have more space for growth.
  6. Write positive compliments to companies I frequent about my experiences (many only think to write when something negative occurs). I wrote to my yoga studio anonymously!

Daily Goals Weekly Status Update

  1. Run every day. Every day! Bad week!  I only ran 2.5 miles all week.  Because of my toe, I think I am done until surgery and rehab is complete.
  2. Drink at least a gallon of water every day. (Plain ice tea counts!) I did okay here.
  3. Do a 3o day +1 Bikram yoga challenge. Been there every day and very much enjoying it!  My body is definitely changing!
  4. Reduce my sugar intake. I did okay here.
  5. Do something new every day, even if it’s just a twist on something I usually do. Been doing something new every day.
  6. Every day record something in my life in which I am grateful. I have been writing something down every day and putting it in a jar to read at the end of the month.
  7. Eat 5 times a day. Good food, not junk! (ice cream is acceptable, only because it’s summer!) Pretty good job on this this week!
  8. Absolutely no more gluten! Or other things I am allergic to. I had a smidge of gluten in my ice cream.  Oops!
  9. Take one picture a day – that defines my day. Post on Instagram: jackjosephsmom. Been doing this!  It’s fun and challenging.
  10. Hold a plank for a minimum of one minute a day. 7+ minutes of planks this week – on my knees because of my toe.
  11. Do at least 50 squats a day (preferably 100). I did 350!
  12. Do at least 10 burpees a day (preferably more).  I did 0 burpees.  Can’t jump on my toe.  I have to find an exercise to replace this.  Suggestions?
  13. Do ten pushups a day. I did 70 pushups on my knees.  Not my original plan, I just can’t be on my toe like that.
  14. Do 20 Kettlebell swings a day. I did 140 Kettlebell swings!
  15. Reconnect with an old friend each day. Reaching out, still not hearing back much. 😦 
  16. Join the Pay it Forward Movement and participate daily. (There’s an app for that!) This has been fun!  But their app appears to be running out of ideas, so I am making my own up.
  17. Be happy everyday; all day if possible. It was a pretty good week!
  18. Smile at everyone I see. (Part of the whole “fake it until you make it” philosophy). Easy!
3 thoughts on “Week #3: Weekly Goals Status Check

  1. Are you going to have a challenge in August? It’s so hard with FB and all that now to really reconnect with old friends. I guess people feel like it is easier to just see what you’re doing online instead of having a real conversation. 😦

    • I was just thinking about that yesterday! I will. I like having to hold myself accountable for things. It will be a lot less daily goals, though. It will be more like go to yoga at least 3 times a week. Do this workout 4 times a week. I will just use this blog and keep doing it.

      I have also been disappointed in myself for not achieving some of them – some have been due to injury, some because I haven’t had the time… It was an ambitious list, so August’s will be less ambitious – but still items that I have to strive to achieve.

      It is hard with Facebook. And I am no longer on it – having been gone for over 6 months. Account isn’t just deactivated, but deleted permanently! It is amazing how many people haven’t wondered where I am… oh well! You learn who your real friends are!

      I want the real conversations again – and actually have been having them with 5 close friends and 2 aunts for the last few, four, five months. Summer has been a bit harder to stay in touch and get together because their kids are out of school, but I even have one friend that will text “up for company?” and come by for an hour. It’s nice.

      As for reading online, those five friends and 1 aunt have my other blog address (and this one, too), but I only think two friends and my aunt read it religiously. It doesn’t matter – it’s just so I can express my feelings when I need to and not wear anyone out. Plus, I don’t really want to talk about that stuff anymore – I want to talk about what’s going on in daily life now!

      I am so happy to have met you and that we have these conversations! 🙂

      • Thats interesting because I also deactivated my account but had to log back on again about eighteen months ago to maintain the social media for my job. Oslo I have like 50 friends who found me again. It is amazing that all the others have kind of forgotten about me, or that’s how I feel.
        Glad to have met you too! Your goals have motivated me, that’s for sure!

cheer me along!

