23 july 2013

Standard

31 day challenge

Daily Goals

  1. Run every day. Every day! Running is done until after surgery.  Boo!  Makes me so sad. 😦
  2. Drink at least a gallon of water every day. (Plain ice tea counts!) Today I drank very little water.  Boo!
  3. Do a 3o day +1 Bikram yoga challenge. Today I went to the 6:00 am class. 
  4. Reduce my sugar intake. I totally have been reducing my sugar.  I got a strawberry lemonaid at the Rainforest Café and it was too sickly sweet for me!
  5. Do something new every day, even if it’s just a twist on something I usually do. I did not wear athletic clothes out today.  I wore a polo shirt and jean shorts – very unusual for me.
  6. Every day record something in my life in which I am grateful. I did this, and put it in my jar. I will read these at the end of the month.
  7. Eat 5 times a day. Good food, not junk! (ice cream is acceptable, only because it’s summer!) I ate 3 times today.
  8. Absolutely no more gluten! Or other things I am allergic to. Completed!
  9. Take one picture a day – that defines my day. Post on Instagram: jackjosephsmom. Posted!
  10. Hold a plank for a minimum of one minute a day. I did a 2min plank on my knees.
  11. Do at least 50 squats a day (preferably 100). 50 squats!
  12. Do at least 10 burpees a day (preferably more). Can’t do. 😦
  13. Do ten pushups a day. Did 10.
  14. Do 20 Kettlebell swings a day. Did 20.
  15. Reconnect with an old friend each day. Texted with RE.
  16. Join the Pay it Forward Movement and participate daily. (There’s an app for that!) Today’s PIF deed of the day app was to compliment a stranger.  I did, they were appreciative!
  17. Be happy everyday; all day if possible. It was an okay day.  Still crabby.  Work is pissing me off, but I had lunch with C and little S, and we had a great time!  I am really tired today as well.
  18. Smile at everyone I see. (Part of the whole “fake it until you make it” philosophy). Completed! 
4 thoughts on “23 july 2013

    • It’s funny, really, and a little embarrassing – though I don’t know why! I have bunions, I always have. Most people wouldn’t notice, even though I have smaller feet. But when you say that, those that don’t know think a bunion is a growth. It’s not. It’s your big toe pushing out. It’s commonly associated with wearing tight shoes, but I rarely wear shoes. I have had them since I was very little. Maybe it’s because when I started walking I walked on my toes. Maybe it’s because I was born early and wasn’t completely hatched – I don’t know! I had surgery on the right foot 12 years ago. As my driving and more prominent foot, it would hurt so much I would be in tears. So the surgery involves them breaking my big toe and resetting it with a screw. Over time, that toe has pushed back out again, but there isn’t any pressure or pain. Last year when I began my outdoor running season, my left foot hurt so bad I actually went in for an X-ray because I thought I had a stress fracture. But over the last year and finally by this past spring, I realized my pain was actually the bunion and surgery is necessary. Foot surgery is always dangerous because if something goes wrong you could have problems walking. But since I have had 0 complications with my right foot, I am committed to the second surgery. It gives me a chance that I can run again. Instead of now, where the pain is so great, walking is difficult. I was planning on trying to make it through this running season and having surgery in November, but now I am moving it forward to October. I would do it now, but I don’t want to wear the boot in the August and September heat.

  1. Not yet! I do have a doctor’s appointment Monday to get established with the doc my general practioner referred me to. I think his surgery days may be Tuesday, so it will hopefully be October 1st! I’ll keep you posted.

cheer me along!

