Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #26

Standard

bikram yoga 30 day challenge

Today was my 26th class in 26 days! Today I went to the 1:00 pm class.  It was a hot one.  Or maybe it was just me.  I don’t know.

I was really thirsty.  I hadn’t had any water before class and only 76 ounces total yesterday.  I do bring my grape Gatorade to class, 2 of them – one frozen, one just cold.

I also bring along my 52 ounce Bubba filled with water, but I leave it in the cubbies outside the yoga room.  I drink it all on the way home.  Actually, it’s usually gone before the half-way mark home.

I almost asked IEK to grab me a water – but for some reason that felt weak.  I don’t know why I thought that – it shouldn’t bother me.  And to be honest, I really don’t think about what anyone else thinks about me in class, nor do any of them care.  I have said it before – the only person you challenge in yoga is yourself.  I guess it would be weak to me.

We had a heavy breather today.  I cannot stress how annoying and distracting that is.  He grunted loudly with every stretch – even before class when he was warming up.  He let his breath out loudly.  He was way on the other side of the room and I could still hear him.  I have probably mentioned that I have the attention span of a flea before.  Anything like that takes me out of focus.  I know, I know.  I should be able to block it out.  But I can’t.

It even had IEK making comments about breathing; he clearly didn’t hear her.

Even though I can’t block distractions out in class, I have been able to block them out elsewhere.  Annoying emails?  I don’t read them or give them a second thought.  Annoying rude people?  Ignore.  Road rage? (Okay, so I don’t have road rage – but I do like to yell at bad drivers inside the safety of my closed up car.) I let them pass and move on out of my life.

It’s nice.

I expected a lot of emotions this go round, this challenge.  But nope, just anger that first week and it’s passed.  No constant crying episodes, no more excessive thoughts wasted on the nastiness.  A quick glimpse here and there, of course.  Who wouldn’t?

But basically an emotionless challenge.  Just what I needed. 🙂

~

Ardha-Matsyendrasana

This picture is borrowed from www.hotyogadoctor.com

The last posture in the floor series is Ardha-Matsyendrasana (Sanskrit) Spine-Twisting Pose.

This posture twists the spine from top to bottom, which increases circulation to all the spinal nerves, veins, and tissues, and improves the elasticity of the spine.Spine Twisting relieves lower back pain and helps prevent slipped discs, rheumatism of the spine, kyphosis, scoliosis, cervical spondylosis and arthritis. It also calms the nervous system.

I am pretty worn about the time we get to this position.  I do the form right, but I am not too into it.  I am not sure I can feel it doing what it is supposed to do, but my form is correct.

Can you tell this is another “eh, whatever” posture for me? 😉

2 thoughts on “Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge: Day #26

  1. Wow! 26 classes in 26 days! That’s awesome. The breather would annoy me too. Sometimes I feel people like that do it just for the attention. Have a great Friday evening!

cheer me along!

