july 2013 – completed!: 31 day challenge

Standard
31 day challenge

31 day challenge

 

I wasn’t 100% on this challenge, but it was fun!  I did accomplish my main goal though – being happy!

 

Daily Goals

  1. Run every day. Every day! Sidelined because of my toe – requires surgery.  I did get over 27 miles in for the month, but I used to run 28 miles per week.
  2. Drink at least a gallon of water every day. (Plain ice tea counts!) Not always a gallon a day, but usually around 76-100 ounces a day.
  3. Do a 3o day +1 Bikram yoga challenge.
  4. Reduce my sugar intake. I really worked hard on this.
  5. Do something new every day, even if it’s just a twist on something I usually do. This got tough towards the end, but I did it!
  6. Every day record something in my life in which I am grateful. I did this!  It was a great list to read.
  7. Eat 5 times a day. Good food, not junk! (ice cream is acceptable, only because it’s summer!) I tried, but usually only ate 3-4 times a day.
  8. Absolutely no more gluten! Or other things I am allergic to. I did very well on this.
  9. Take one picture a day – that defines my day. Post on Instagram: jackjosephsmom. Completed!  And so fun!!
  10. Hold a plank for a minimum of one minute a day. I did very well on this.
  11. Do at least 50 squats a day (preferably 100). Stayed around 50/day.
  12. Do at least 10 burpees a day (preferably more). Can’t jump on my toe – but did it through half of the month!
  13. Do ten pushups a day. Done!  And I am much better at them now.
  14. Do 20 Kettlebell swings a day. Completed!  My shoulders feel great!
  15. Reconnect with an old friend each day. I reached out, but didn’t hear too much back.  I did have one person say getting my message made their day!
  16. Join the Pay it Forward Movement and participate daily. (There’s an app for that!) This was fun and I encourage each of you to participate!
  17. Be happy everyday; all day if possible. I did really well on this.  Only a couple of iffy days!
  18. Smile at everyone I see. (Part of the whole “fake it until you make it” philosophy). Easy!  Done!

Weekly Goals

  1. Have friends over for a lunch or dinner party each week Half-Completed.  2/4 – but remaining 2 at the end of this week.
  2. Make something I have never made before each time. Half-Completed.  2/4 – but remaining 2 at the end of this week.
  3. Start reading again, at least one book a week. Failed! Only read one book.  (Not exactly true- but I was looking for casual, fun reading here.)
  4. Enjoy the amenities of my neighborhood – the pool, the gym… Completed!  Enjoyed the pool quite a few times!
  5. Find new hobbies to adopt. Sign Language!  Struggled with finding new hobbies as I learned I already have a lot!
  6. Write positive compliments to companies I frequent about my experiences (many only think to write when something negative occurs). Completed!

Monthly Goals

  1. Clean out the basement…again.  Completed!
  2. Clean out my closets – especially the shoe closets… again. Completed and donated!
  3. Create a scrapbook of all my accomplishments: a brag book.  To help remind me how great I am when I am down. In-Progress: Working on an online scrapbook!
  4. Learn Photoshop. Well, I couldn’t learn the whole thing in a month, but I am trying!
  5. Write something important and send it to a magazine in hopes it will be published. Completed! No word if its being published or not yet.
  6. Sign up to volunteer. Completed!  Humane Society.
  7. Learn astronomy. In-Progress: It can’t all be learned in one month! 🙂
cheer me along!

