august’s 30 day blog challenge: day 7 – my opinion on cheating on people

Standard

30 day blog challenge

I do not condone cheating.

I have several thoughts on this topic.

  1. Cheating is very hurtful to the person cheated on.  For that reason alone it should not be done.
  2. I honestly believe people cheat when the relationship is not working.  I do not believe an ongoing affair would happen if the original relationship was strong.  They should, instead of cheating, work on the relationship not working or end it prior to moving on to someone else.
  3. I believe an emotional affair is more damning than a sexual one.
  4. I believe sex is a physical response from the body, animalistic even.  That sometimes circumstances outside of one’s control (so not true, actually.  I am thinking of when a person is drunk – but they have a choice not to drink so much) leads to a sexual event.
  5. If someone cheated on me, once, for physical pleasure only, I don’t want to know about it.  The thoughts of it would kill me.
  6. If I was with someone who cheated on me and I knew about it, I could not have sex with them again.
  7. If someone cheats once, I honestly believe they will do it again.
  8. I have cheated on people before – but never when I was seriously committed to the relationship, and never an ongoing affair.
  9. I have been the other woman at least once before.  When I found out, I ended the relationship.  It was never something I would have participated in knowingly.
  10. I am not proud of #’s 8 & 9.
3 thoughts on “august’s 30 day blog challenge: day 7 – my opinion on cheating on people

  1. I don’t know if I would throw away my marriage if my husband cheated on me. That being said, I feel bad for women in marriages where the husband has cheated. I know it’s a contradiction, but I don’t think I would leave him. I hope I don’t have to make the choice.

    • I hope so too! Obviously I have never been through it, but have known two people who have. At first they stayed with their husbands, then finally divorced. It’s a personal choice and decision. Sex is just sex sometimes. Well, a lot of the time. It’s the emotional attachment I would have the biggest problem with.

cheer me along!

