18 august 2013

Standard

31 day challenge august

  1. Take a picture of my abs on day #1 Posted to Instagram on 8/1/13.
  2. Do this 30 day ab challenge (it includes rest days!) Today I completed day #18! 80 sit ups, 110 crunches, 48 leg raise, 75s plank.
  3. Do this ab workout 2x a week: http://youtu.be/vkKCVCZe474 
  4. Do this ab workout 3x a week (NEW VIDEO 8/8): http://youtu.be/08Bi8hMdwa4 I did this today!  For such a short time, and such few exercise, I really work up a sweat on this one!
  5. Go to yoga 4x a week (focus on spine strengthening series!)
  6. Work on the flexibility of my shoulders including researching new ways to increase flexibility in my shoulders and stretch them out with various exercises. Did the plow.!  Still sleeping without a pillow.
  7. Work on the flexibility of my hips including researching new ways to increase flexibility in my hips and stretch them out with various exercises. Did a bunch of stretches while reading today.
  8. Do this 30 day squat challenge (it includes rest days!) Today I completed through day #18! 125 squats.
  9. One day a week pick a random work out of the day off of Pinterest or anywhere on the internet and just do it! I desire a firmer butt, so I got a little obsessive ! I found: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awnHbinfGr8 – this is a really tough workout – or maybe it was because I did it last!  I am drenched in sweat and had to skip a few.  I may put this on my list of things for next month as something to do a few times a week!  Bonus on this one – it’s filmed at the beach!; http://pinterest.com/pin/525302744006326810/ – this one is quick & easy!; http://pinterest.com/pin/497084877591786262/; http://indulgy.com/post/joROy2VaQ1/butt-exercise – I only did one round today – but I think I will do this one again!, in incorporates some arm strength & core strength;  and I did them!
  10. Take one full day a week as a rest day from physical activity (except for walking the dogs – which I do every day).
  11. Drink at least 100 oz of water a day. I drank 100 ounces of water today.
  12. Eat 5x a day. I ate 5x today!
  13. Do the Pay it Forward App 5x a week. Today’s PIF challenge of the day was to spend some time with a senior citizen living alone.  Do I count?  If not, I don’t know one.
  14. Post one picture a day on Instagram following this 30 day photo challenge. @jackjosephsmom Completed!
  15. Host 2 dinner parties this month. 8/11;
  16. Read at least 2 books this month (besides business reading). Today I finished reading The Litigators by John Grisham.  It was pretty good.  I really wasn’t sure, but had a good idea, of where it was going.  I also read the Batman book I bought for Jack on his 6 month birthday.  I never specified the length of the book here, so I am going to count it as part of my two books this month.  It was a great little read with a great story for kids about not being afraid.
  17. Compliment someone every day. In person. I complimented a man on his generosity of buying me my coffee today.
  18. Discover a new blog/blogger every day. I searched for “fitness” today and was intrigued by an infographic titled “10 weeks to a 5k”.  Though I can run 5k without a problem, well, if my toe didn’t hurt so bad, I found the graphic intriguing because it may be useful for post-surgery recovery, and I also thought that if there is anyone out there that wants to start running, this could be something helpful to follow!  It’s pretty straightforward – same mileage each week.  I would think it should vary a bit, like 2 miles, back down to 1, up to 1.5, 3 miles, back down to 2, up to 2.5, etc.  But I am neither a coach nor a trainer – so I can’t say what is best.  And the author is a certified trainer – so she would know a lot better than me!  Not only is she a certified trainer, but she is also a nutritionist.  She began her fitness journey at 50, which is so inspiring!  Check out Fit Journey 50 where fitness is a journey, not a destination!
  19. Follow this 30 day blog challenge. Posted here.
  20. Rent and watch a movie this month (weird, I know, but the TV is always on and I am never watching it. It’s always on crime shows. I want me to rent a movie from my TV’s online guide and watch it. I never watch movies unless I am on a date, and since I have no plans ever to date again, just watching one movie this month will be tough.)
  21. Participate in the 30 day song challenge. Posted here.
  22. Write a “I Like This About You” note/text/email each day to someone (repeats of the same person but with new reasons is okay! – I have a smaller world now, anyways, and I am okay with that). 
  23. Make a serious effort not to complain at all, every day. I did not complain today. 
  24. Create a new bucket list: each day write down something I want, want to do, or place I want to go. I want a new vacuum.  Which one?  I don’t know.
  25. Write a children’s book.
  26. Continue learning Astronomy.
  27. Continue learning Sign Language – one new sign a day! Over the last three days I have learned horseback riding, swimming and fishing!  Sign language is pretty easy – not completely, but the signs do make sense.  Like swimming is two flat hands in front of you that you keep moving away from each other like you are swimming; fishing is two “A” hands in front of you that you flick your wrists like you were casting the line.
  28. Clean all the blinds.
  29. Vacuum 2x a week. (allergy season will be back!) I vacuumed today!  Even the basement!
  30. Clean all the fans. 3 down, 2 or so to go, as I cleaned another one today!
  31. Take a picture of my abs again on the 31st! Hopefully see some change!
cheer me along!

