The Next Iron Chef Challenge #1: Finn & Charley Too, 21 august 13

Standard

I wrote last week on JackJosephsMom that I was Desperately Seeking Adventure!

One of my adventure ideas was:

dinner-80109_150

1. CHOPPED

This is a cooking show where the chefs are given a basket full of ingredients and have to create a meal with them.  Along the same lines, I would like someone to come over with a bag of groceries and I have to create something for them with the items.  I think this would be really fun because I love to cook and I love to try new things, but it’s hard when creating meals for yourself.  You always, or I always, lean towards my favorite flavors and foods.  This would really stretch me to try something new.

~

Ingredients

My friend FinnHoward over at Finn & Charley Too had a great suggestion of letting my blogger friends give me ingredients to create meals with.  Tonight J is coming over for dinner, and FH gave me a list of four ingredients to use in my dinner creation.

Drum roll, please!the next iron chef

Tonight’s ingredients are:

  • Chicken
  • Rice
  • Asparagus
  • Mushrooms

I added a few ingredients of my own (my show, my rules!):the next iron chef

  • Rib Rack (GF, All-Natural Ingredients, Locally-Made) Chicken Marinade
  • Lemon
  • Chicken Broth
  • Green Onions
  • Garlic
  • Cherry Tomatoes (from my garden)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

~

Preparation

To prepare the chicken, I placed it in a Ziploc bag with the Rib Rack Marinade.  I let it sit and soak it in most of the day, in the refrigerator.rice, mushrooms, green onions

I prepared the rice as directed on the package, but by substituting chicken broth for water, and added fresh garlic while it heated to a boil.  I let it cook for about 20 minutes, then added the mushrooms and green onions and continued cooking as per the instructions.

asparagus

I prepared the asparagus by washing it, snapping off the ends, and placing six stalks each on two strips of tin foil.  I drizzled it with the olive oil, squeezed fresh lemon on it, added a couple of wedges of lemon, threw in a few cherry tomatoes, sliced, because they were right there, and dusted with sea salt.  I folded the tin foil around the asparagus into little, individual packages. I threw them on the grill, top rack, about 10 minutes before I put the chicken on.

the next iron chef

I grilled the chicken on medium-low for about 22 minutes.  I wanted it tender and moist.  I turned the tenderloins after 7 minutes, then again after 7 minutes, then after 4 minutes, and removed them after another 4.  I let them sit for about ten minutes before serving.

~

The Final Result

J thought it was pretty good, too!

~

Who Wants To Be Next?

Who wants to give ingredient suggestions next?  I would love to hear a list of ingredients that you think I should use to create a dinner.

I can’t guarantee when I will do the next meal, but it will be within 10 days.

As an FYI, I have many allergies and insensitivities to food.  It would be best to avoid these items.

Here is what I cannot have:

  • Gluten (if you are unsure of what this is, no worries – I can make adjustments or offer alternatives for you to chose from)
  • Cinnamon
  • Pork

Here is what I should avoid (meaning it’s best not to include them, but if it is a small amount, I may be okay):

  • Crab
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Eggs
  • Almonds
  • Celery

Can’t wait to create!

7 thoughts on “The Next Iron Chef Challenge #1: Finn & Charley Too, 21 august 13

  1. Sounds delish! 🙂 Yum!

    Celery? Interesting… (not in a “you’re wrong!!” kind of way, but more in a, “I’ve never heard of that kind of insensitivity before. Interesting!”) (listen to my heart here) 🙂

    • It was!

      I always laugh about that celery one. I simply test against it during a scratch test at the allergist. In fact, personally, I thought celery was mostly water… I really don’t avoid it, but I don’t seek it out either.

cheer me along!

