Daily Step #9 – Facts & God’s Truth

Standard

sad

“Write down the facts about a situation you are in and then balance that with what the truth of God’s Word says about it.”

Fact:

I chose not to continue a pregnancy of twins at age 18.

God’s Word:

Exodus21: 22-25

“When men strive together and hit a pregnant woman, so that her children come out, but there is no harm, the one who hit her shall surely be fined, as the woman’s husband shall impose on him, and he shall pay as the judges determine. But if there is harm, then you shall pay life for life, eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot, burn for burn, wound for wound, stripe for stripe.”

From this, I deduct I am being punished for what I chose to end.

Fact:

I have since had two miscarriages.

God’s Word:

Jeremiah 1:5

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

Lamentations 3:33

“…for he does not afflict from his heart or grieve the children of men.”

John 14:27

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give  to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. ”

Romans 9:11

“Though they were not yet born and had done nothing either good or bad—in order that God’s purpose of election might continue, not because of works but because of him who calls—”

Fact:

I fear I will never have children.

God’s Word:

Genesis 1:28

And God blessed them. And God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

Psalm 127:3

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward.

From here, I deduct children are a reward I am not worthy of.

~

I got to tell you, this whole exercise had me reduced to an extreme sadness and tears, a heavy heart, until I found this (I don’t quite understand it all yet, but it gives me hope.):

Isaiah 54:1-17

“Sing, O barren one, who did not bear; break forth into singing and cry aloud, you who have not been in labor! For the children of the desolate one will be more than the children of her who is married,” says the Lord. “Enlarge the place of your tent, and let the curtains of your habitations be stretched out; do not hold back; lengthen your cords and strengthen your stakes. For you will spread abroad to the right and to the left, and your offspring will possess the nations and will people the desolate cities. Fear not, for you will not be ashamed; be not confounded, for you will not be disgraced; for you will forget the shame of your youth, and the reproach of your widowhood you will remember no more. For your Maker is your husband, the Lord of hosts is his name; and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called. …”

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Step #9 – Facts & God’s Truth

  1. Please don’t feel like you are being punished. As a lapsed Catholic, I do know that God doesn’t punish us. He forgives. AND, nothing in the bible is literal. I am glad the last passage gave you hope too!

cheer me along!

