Daily Step #12 – Look in the Mirror

Standard

mirror

“You have got to get good at looking in the mirror and liking the girl you see…”

Today’s step is to look at the mirror and focus on you and liking who you see.

This is a tough one for me.  I get the symbolism – looking in the mirror and liking the person I see staring back at me.  I have written about this before, here, discussing “What if we were each our own best friend?” I get that.

But staring in the mirror and liking what I see, that doesn’t come easy anymore.  I am not as young as I used to be.  I don’t spend hours getting ready to go out.  In fact, the last time I remember actively caring and spending time on myself getting ready was for my 15 year high school reunion.  And it was then that I decided in the future for any “special event” that I would go get my hair done.  See, if I do it myself, I am never happy.  It is never good enough.  It’s worth the $60-$80 to have someone blow it out or do an updo.  Less stress for me.

In fact, the only thing I do like about me when I look in the mirror is that I don’t care what I look like.

I should care.

In fact, I am considering now that I should make more of an effort when leaving the house.  A little under eye concealer every day.  A little concealer on any imperfections.  Forget about eye makeup, I have the greasiest eyelids on earth – so it ends up looking smeared and running down my face moments after it is applied.  Most mascaras make me itch.  In fact, I wear so little makeup (none, in fact) nowadays I recently gave away a large bag of barely used makeup to a friend for her girls for playing dress up and their plays and dance recitals.

Only because taking pride in your appearance shows you have pride in yourself, and I wouldn’t say I do right now.

I have thought about adopting a new clothing style, but I got to be honest, though I like the idea, it’s probably not me.  I am an athletic wearing type of girl.  I like jeans and a T-Shirt.  I like easy.

I am easy.  I do like that.

 

 

 

One thought on “Daily Step #12 – Look in the Mirror

cheer me along!

