15 september 2013

Standard

september 30 day challenge

  1. Blog Challenge: I have this book called Daily Steps for God Chicks by Holly Wagener. It is a 90 day devotional. [I have not read it yet.] I am going to do the first 30 days (and maybe continue it into the next months). Each day includes a step, and I will blog the step on this site. I expect it to include some real confessions, inner secrets and be very revealing. Posted here. 
  2. Creative Writing: Follow this 30 Day Creative Writing Challenge. Posted here. 
  3. Photo Challenge: Follow this 30 Day Photo Challenge. Post on Instagram: @jackjosephsmom Posted!
  4. Humor Challenge: Find a funny video on YouTube each day and post it.
  5. Water: Drink at least 100 ounces of water per day. Try to drink at least 16 of these ounces first thing in the morning. I drank 30 ounces water today.
  6. Eat: 5x per day. Today I ate 4x.
  7. Fitness – Yoga: Go to Bikram Yoga at least 4x per week.
  8. Fitness – Arms: Follow this 30 Day Arms Challenge. (Mountain climbers may be difficult because of my toe.) 8 Tricep dips, 9 Pushups, 12 (slow) Mountain Climbers!
  9. Fitness – Squats/Crunches: Follow this 30 Day Challenge. (Add 50 to the squats count and 100 to the crunches count.) 190 squats & 195 crunches!
  10. Fitness – Buttocks: Do this Buttocks Workout video 4x per week. 
  11. Fitness – Core Challenge: Do this Core Challenge on the odd numbered days of the month. Completed!
  12. Fitness – Lower Ab Attack: Do this Lower Ab workout on the even numbered days of the month. 
  13. Fitness – 30 Minute Ab Workout: Do this 30 Minute Ab Workout Video 2x per week.
  14. Fitness – 6 Pack Abs (2): Do this Level 2 Six Pack Abs Workout Video 3x per week.
  15. Fitness – Random: Follow this 100 Reps Challenge (a different exercise each day you do 100 times). There are only 27 days on here, so the remaining 3 days I will just randomly pick one. 100 second plank!
  16. Fitness – Fun!: Pick one day a week and choose a workout off of Pinterest (or any where on the web) and do it!
  17. Meditate: 10 minutes per day. (I found an app from Huffington Post – GPS for the Soul. It has a sensor that measures your beats per minute through your phone’s camera! It’s pretty cool. It reminds you daily to check in with yourself, offers stress tips, has guides, yoga poses, meditation videos, breathing exercises – and you can search by minutes (1 min, 2 min, 5min…) depending on how much time you have. Oh, by the way, it’s free!) Today I meditated and fell asleep!
  18. Random Acts of Kindness: Make up my own Pay It Forward Deed of the Day and do it.  I haven’t been doing a good job of these – mainly because it is difficult coming up with new ideas.  Sure, I could buy someone a coffee every day, or something like that – but see, that’s not the point.
  19. Dream: List one thing I have always wanted to do each day. I have always wanted to go to this park that is about an hour and a half away and run.  Someday I will.
  20. Positively Positive: Push or sweep all negative or unhappy thoughts from my mind. I did a pretty good job of this today.
  21. What I Like About Me: Write down one thing I like about myself every day and why. I like how I think every day deserves a treat.
  22. Read: 2 New Fiction Books this month from authors I have never read before. I was given this book, The Shack by Wm. Paul Young, years ago as a gift for my birthday or Christmas – it doesn’t matter which, they are practically the same day.  I decided today (9-1) to finally read it, and it has left me with a lot of thoughts to ponder.  I have dog eared many of the pages to refer back to them for clarity and to reread for further understanding.  The tagline is “Where Tragedy Confronts Eternity”.  There was never a reason for never reading it before now – but something I had heard recently, from a yoga instructor when I told her something she said in class helped me finally achieve something I had been struggling with for years – made me realize why now is was the time.  My yoga instructor told me that I was finally able to achieve what I had been struggling with for so long was that I was finally ready, open to hear the instruction that took me to the next level in my practice.  It seems now was the time I was finally open and ready to read this book and to clearly understand the messages in the book.  This book has struck me as exactly what I need right now – to move forward, to accept my own tragedy and to forgive.  Please read this book.  It is transformational. ||| I started reading Harvesting the Heart by Jodi Picoult.
  23. Read: 1 Biography this month.
  24. Watch: 2 Documentaries this month.
  25. Watch: 2 Movies this month. I’ve watched Fast Five & Grease 2 this weekend (9-13/9-15).  My intent was to watch movies I haven’t see before – but I keep looking through the movie lists and nothing has been appealing.  Here’s hoping something comes up in the next two weeks!
  26. Host: 2 Dinner Parties this month.
  27. Art: Draw 1 picture this month.
  28. Upcycle: 2 things from my closet into something new.
  29. Create: Make a candle from scratch.
  30. Avoided Household Task: Hook up the surround sound system. Correctly. Mount speakers.

Bonus: Social: Go out one night to a crowded bar, for at least one hour. I did tonight (9-14).  With C.  We ate appetizers and dessert. Listened to music.  I survived.  Of course, it wasn’t crowded – but it should have been!

Ongoing: These items I will continue going forward, but don’t feel they should take up a challenge line item going into the future.

  1. Continue working on the flexibility of my hips. I did some stretching  at home on the floor.
  2. Continue working on the flexibility of my shoulders/upper back. I did some stretching at home on the stability ball.
  3. Continue learning sign language.
  4. Continue studying astronomy.
cheer me along!

