Daily Step #20 – Are You Wearing a Mask?

Standard

are you wearing a mask

“Think about whether you have been trying to be someone else.  Have you been playing a role?  Are you wearing a mask?”

No.  There isn’t anyone to be playing a role towards in my life right now.

Sure, I have different “masks” in my life – but it’s not me pretending to be something I am not.  I have work me, neighbor me, dog momma me, and the rest of my life me.  All of them are me – even if work me & neighbor me doesn’t share all the information about my life and if the dogs don’t understand it.

Even me trying to get back to the old me is not a mask.  It’s not me pretending to be someone else.

Even “fake it until you make it” and “smile at everyone, even if you don’t want to smile” doesn’t seem like I am pretending to be something I am not.  I am not playing a role – I am just trying to make it my way of life.

I am not trying to be something I am not or pretending to be someone else.

I am just trying to figure out who I am right now and who I want to be and where I am going.

One thought on “Daily Step #20 – Are You Wearing a Mask?

cheer me along!

