1 january 2014

Standard

Today definitely got started off on the right foot!  Which is always a great way to start.

WEIGHT ~~ +12 (I do not expect to lose it all in 3 weeks)

ENERGY ~~ 👌

EXCITEMENT ~~ 😀

MOOD ~~ 😐

TIP: When starting a new routine like this one, make it fun and prepare.  I did my shopping yesterday, revisiting delicious, healthy food that I do love, but has been absent from my couch diet as of late.  I also got a few new things – like Green Tea in K-Cups to use with my new Keurig.  I even tried it yesterday and loved it, which made it easier to consume today.  I have made all of today about this new routine, which makes dedicating myself to it easy and fun.  I have a positive attitude about this refresh, which is why it is easy to resist the sweets today.

I started the morning with a cup of hot green tea and added a fresh slice of lemon.  It was fabulous.

For breakfast, I made quinoa and added fresh chopped apples to it.  I also tried my first ever black cup of coffee.  I only really drink lattes, usually about one a day – though that has tapered off lately because the milk has made my stomach queasy.  I ended up having two half cups of black coffee today, made with the Keurig.  I am certainly not hooked, I wouldn’t choose it over a soda, but it was necessary for the caffeine to avoid the headache.It wasn’t completely horrible.

My morning snack was 1/2 cup of raspberries.  I store them in the fridge, and only wash what I will eat at a time.  This helps them last longer.

For lunch, I made an approximately 4 oz chicken tenderloin, 1/2 cup cooked brown rice, a lot, lot, lot of steamed broccoli, and a tomato and avocado salad drizzled with olive oil, garlic and cracked pepper.  I also added 1/2 cup of raspberries.

My afternoon snack was a small apple.

Dinner was 4 oz of salmon, 1/2 cup cooked quinoa with chopped green onions, a big salad of lettuce, cucumbers and tomatoes – drizzled with lemon and lime, extra cucumbers and a little bit of hummus. Plus a few raspberries.

It was a good eating day.

I did my exercises in the afternoon.  1/2 hour of Just Dance on my Wii, plus the assigned exercises from the challenges in the list.  And my yoga to cool down.

After dinner, I made a hair mask of avocado, honey and olive oil.  It was messy.  Very, very messy.  If I ever do it again, it should be made in a blender and blended very, very well.  It made my hair soft.

I put on the hair mask and a face mask of lemon and honey while I soaked in the bath.  I meditated for over 10 minutes, peacefully in the Epsom salt bath.  I then gave myself a foot massage while still in the bath, used my pumice stone, and after the shower I had to take after the bath (to rinse out the avocado from my hair), I put on a lotion foot mask.

I slept all. night. long.  It was heavenly.

I drank 80 oz of water.

  1. No sugar. 👍
  2. No salt. 👍
  3. No alcohol. 👍
  4. No dairy 👍- this is a personal requirement.  Milk products seem to be upsetting my stomach lately.  Yes, this means no lattes!
  5. Drink at least 64 ounces (preferably 80 ounces) of water per day. 👍
  6. Eat 5 times per day. 👍 (Meal plan suggestion here.)
  7. Cheat occasionally!  It’s okay to cheat every now and again, just don’t do it daily. 😉
  8. Take my supplements religiously. 👍
  9. Drink green tea daily. 👍
  10. Meditate for at least 10 minutes per day. 👍
  11. Do 20 minutes of yoga poses per day. 👍
  12. Do 30 minutes of easy aerobic exercise 5x per week – Just Dance video game, stationary bike, simple video… 👍
  13. Follow this Squat Challenge through the 21st. 👍
  14. Follow this Crunch Challenge through the 21st. 👍
  15. Follow this Arm Challenge through the 21st. 👍
  16. Take an Epsom salt bath at least 5 nights a week.  This will help detox my body and reduce water weight. 👍
  17. Create and use a face mask twice a week. 👍
  18. Create a use a moisturizing hair mask twice a week. 👍
  19. Use a foot mask three times a week. 👍
  20. Give myself a foot massage 3 times a week. 👍
  21. Get a massage!

 

cheer me along!

